What is the Destiny 2 campaign order?

Learn what order you should play all of Destiny 2's many campaign levels, from the Red War all the way to Shadowkeep and beyond.


The Destiny 2 campaign order can be quite obtuse for a lot of new players. If you’ve just joined in on the fun with New Light, figuring out where to go and what to do is tough enough before you even consider the story. There are a lot of missions to play, and playing them in the correct order requires a bit of effort.

  1. The Red War
  2. Curse of Osiris
  3. Warmind
  4. Forsaken
  5. Shadowkeep
  6. Beyond Light

How to start a Destiny 2 campaign

Unfortunately, some of the old Destiny 2 campaigns have been removed. Players will be unable to complete some of the legacy content. 

If you want to play one of the Destiny 2 Legacy campaigns, you will need to visit Amanda Holliday. This Shipwright can be found in the Hangar of the Tower, tending to a chassis of a Sparrow. Load into the Tower and take a left down to the Hangar. Amanda is across the way under the red sign with “02”.

Amanda has all the Legacy Destiny 2 campaigns. When a campaign is no longer considered current, it will be retired to her stock. Collect all the campaigns you wish to play. Once in your inventory, you can track it to help you locate the next mission in the Destinations tab of the Director.

Destiny 2: campaign order to play

There are now around 50 or so campaign missions, and each one takes place at a certain time in the Destiny 2 story. If you’re a new player, the first mission you play will take you through the Cosmodrome, have you fight a Spider Tank, and collect a new gun.

Once this mission is completed, you can play through any of Destiny 2’s campaigns. New Light includes The Red War, Curse of Osiris, and Warmind, the three Legacy campaigns from Destiny 2 Year 1. Unfortunately, these campaigns have been retired as of 2020.

As of writing, the Forsaken campaign, Shadowkeep campaign, and Beyond Light campaign are still premium pieces of content that must be purchased separately.

The Red War

destiny 2 campaign order the red war

After picking up the Red War campaign from Amanda Holliday, it can be started from the Tower.

  1. Homecoming
  2. Adieu
  3. Spark
  4. Devrim Kay
  5. Combustion
  6. Hope
  7. Riptide
  8. Utopia
  9. Looped
  10. Six
  11. Sacrilege
  12. Fury
  13. Payback
  14. Unbroken
  15. Larceny
  16. 1AU
  17. Chosen

Curse of Osiris

destiny 2 campaign order curse of osiris

After picking up the Curse of Osiris campaign from Amanda Holliday, the campaign can be started from Mercury.

  1. The Gateway
  2. A Deadly Trial
  3. Beyond infinity
  4. Deep Storage
  5. Tree of Probabilities
  6. Hijacked
  7. A Garden World
  8. Omega


destiny 2 campaign order warmind

The Warmind campaign can be started from Mars after picking it up from Amanda Holliday.

  1. Ice and Shadow
  2. Pilgrimage
  3. Off-World Recovery
  4. Strange Terrain
  5. Will of the Thousands


destiny 2 campaign order Forsaken

The Forsaken campaign is started in the Tangled Shore. From the Director, click the Tangled Shore and select the Forsaken shield at the bottom of the screen. Check out the Shacknews Forsaken campaign guide for a thorough walkthrough of each quest step.

Note: The Forsaken campaign and content is currently a premium item not included with New Light.

  1. Last Call
  2. High Plains Blues
  3. Scorned
  4. The Mad Bomber
  5. The Rider
  6. The Trickster
  7. The Hangman
  8. The Mindbender
  9. The Rifleman
  10. The Machinist
  11. Nothing Left to Say

It’s worth noting that after the third mission, Scorned, each of the hunts for the Scorned leaders can be completed in any order. However, they each have a different recommended Power. If you complete them in the order above, it will be a gradual climb in challenge.


destiny 2 campaign order Shadowkeep

The Shadowkeep campaign is started on the Moon. Check out the Shacknews Shadowkeep campaign guide for a complete walkthrough of every quest. There are a few moments where progression isn’t entirely clear, and we help navigate these instances.

  1. A Mysterious Disturbance
  2. In Search of Answers
  3. Ghosts of Our Past
  4. The Scarlet Keep
  5. In the Deep
  6. The Nightmare Cometh
  7. Beyond

Beyond Light

destiny 2 campaign order beyond light
destiny 2 campaign order beyond light

The Beyond Light campaign kicks off on Europa, a new planet added with the Beyond Light expansion. This campaign tackles a new Eliksni threat that is trying to harness the power of the Darkness.

  1. Darkness's Doorstep
  2. The New Kell
  3. Rising Resistance
  4. The Warrior
  5. The Technocrat
  6. The Kell of Darkness
  7. Sabotaging Salvation
  8. The Aftermath
  9. Stealing Stasis
  10. Reforging the Past

Now that Destiny 2 is free-to-play (at least the base game and Legacy content), new players are looking to experience the story. There are a lot of missions on offer, so knowing the Destiny 2 campaign order is going to help with planning out your playtime. Take a look at the Shacknews Destiny 2 complete strategy guide for even more guides on the Destiny universe.

Guides Editor

Hailing from the land down under, Sam Chandler brings a bit of the southern hemisphere flair to his work. After bouncing round a few universities, securing a bachelor degree, and entering the video game industry, he's found his new family here at Shacknews as a Guides Editor. There's nothing he loves more than crafting a guide that will help someone. If you need help with a guide, or notice something not quite right, you can Tweet him: @SamuelChandler 

From The Chatty
Hello, Meet Lola