Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend brings 3 Game Boy RPGs to Switch in December

The very start of the SaGa franchise, the Final Fantasy Legend trilogy, is being brought over to Nintendo Switch in a collection this coming December.


Back in 1989/1990 when the Game Boy was still a young system making waves in the handheld world, the company that would become Square Enix launched a game of fantastic magnitude for the time. Final Fantasy Legend brought a full JRPG adventure to the world in an amazing mobile package, not to mention launching the popular SaGa franchise. On its 30th anniversary, Nintendo and Square Enix are bringing Final Fantasy Legend and its sequels back in a Collection of SaGa, set to launch on Nintendo Switch this coming December.

Square Enix and Nintendo announced Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend for the Switch on the Nintendo Direct Mini: Partner Showcase presentation on August 26, 2020. Launching exclusively on Nintendo Switch on December 15, 2020, Collection of SaGa will feature all three of the classic RPGs that made up the original Game Boy lineup: The Final Fantasy Legend, Final Fantasy Legend 2, and Final Fantasy Legend 3. Each of these games have come optimized with features such as the ability to speed up the game, adjust the screen size to Game Boy or widescreen ratios, and more. You can check out the trailer for the collection just below.

Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend will be a must-have for any retro gaming fan, SaGa fan, or enthusiast of old school JRPG fun. The Final Fantasy Legend games are the foundation of so many things that would come to be in handheld RPGs, the SaGa series, and other aspects of gaming evolution. If nothing else, it looks to be a fantastic time capsule for where things were in the early days of these things 30 years ago.

Did you miss the Nintendo Direct Mini: Partner Showcase? Outside of Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend, be sure to check out other announcements from the event, including the reveal of Just Dance 2021 and a follow-up on the puzzle-drop hybrid, Puyo Puyo Tetris 2!

Senior News Editor

TJ Denzer is a player and writer with a passion for games that has dominated a lifetime. He found his way to the Shacknews roster in late 2019 and has worked his way to Senior News Editor since. Between news coverage, he also aides notably in livestream projects like the indie game-focused Indie-licious, the Shacknews Stimulus Games, and the Shacknews Dump. You can reach him at and also find him on Twitter @JohnnyChugs.

From The Chatty
    • reply
      August 26, 2020 10:29 AM

      time to chainsaw god in half

    • reply
      August 26, 2020 11:48 AM

      Holy crap, these games were hard to obtain back in the day (In Europe).

    • reply
      August 26, 2020 1:48 PM

      I mean, that's cool and all, but SaGa 2 and 3 already have very good DS remakes that have never gotten an official english release. It's kind of disappointing they're not translating and releasing those instead. Or the SFC SaGa games, for that matter. I guess that's more work than popping a rom into an emulator though.

      • reply
        August 26, 2020 1:55 PM

        Damn, I didn’t even know about the DS remakes.

        • reply
          August 26, 2020 2:30 PM

          They do have fan translations out there, but I'm sure a lot more people would play them on Switch.

          The SaGa 2 remake seems pretty faithful to the original, with some optional added stuff for combination attacks. If you use those, it opens up some new boss fights and some sort of god favors. Using the new stuff does make the game easier, though, other than the final boss which it powers up a bit.

          The SaGa 3 remake differs a bit more from the original, moving to a system more like the newer SaGa games with weapon skills and stats gained through use. I never actually played FFL3 as a kid so I'm not as familiar with the differences. The remake seems pretty easy though. There's a hard mode but it doesn't let you play it until you finish the game. The fan translation is missing the names for the random combination attacks but seems otherwise complete.

Hello, Meet Lola