Destiny 2 downtime and server maintenance schedule

Get your gaming schedule sorted by knowing the Destiny 2 server downtime and maintenance window in the lead up to Shadowkeep.

2

Destiny 2 is going to undergo a bit of server maintenance, which always means some downtime. This scheduled outage is to usher in Shadowkeep, the next major expansion for Bungie’s space-magic-infused title.


Destiny 2 downtime and server maintenance

Destiny 2 downtime server maintenance
There's not long now until the release of Shadowkeep. Just a bit of downtime and server maintenance stands between you and exploring the moon.

To help you plan out your game time, Bungie has released a breakdown of the server maintenance window. This includes times players can expect certain things to take place, as well as notifications on what may or may not be working.

  • Monday, September 30 at 10AM PDT / 1PM EST – Destiny 1 and 2 taken offline
  • Tuesday, October 1 at 10AM PDT / 1PM EST – Destiny 1 and 2 are online, Shadowkeep launches

10AM PDT, Tuesday, October 1 converted

  • 12PM CST, Tuesday, October 1
  • 5PM GMT, Tuesday, October 1
  • 6PM BST, Tuesday, October 1
  • 10:30PM IST, Tuesday, October 1
  • 1AM SGT, Wednesday, October 2
  • 2AM JST, Wednesday, October 2
  • 3AM AEST, Wednesday, October 2
  • 5AM NSZT, Wednesday, October 2

While the server maintenance is expected to last 24 hours, there’s a chance Destiny 2 could go back online sooner. Sometimes these updates go far smoother than a developer can predict which could result in Destiny 2 being available earlier in the morning. However, there’s also the chance something will go wrong, meaning the launch could be delayed.

Right now, there are only a few things players can do to prepare for the downtime. For those on PC, you will need to transfer your Destiny 2 account to Steam from Blizzard. This is a mission critical step. Without transferring your account, you will not have any of the content or items you’ve earned. In the event you transfer your account after creating a new character, the new character and gear will be overwritten.

The only other task is to pre-load Destiny 2 and Shadowkeep, which will take a while given how large the download is for Destiny 2: New Light. Make sure you get this done as soon as possible.

When Destiny 2’s server maintenance window has ended, players will be able to log into Destiny 2. With a lot of players already, and more likely to be joining now that the game is free-to-play, there’s likely going to be an influx, so expect queues. Shacknews will be covering the release of Shadowkeep extensively. To ensure you don’t miss out on the latest meta weapon guides and collectibles, check out the Destiny 2 guide page.

Guides Editor

Hailing from the land down under, Sam Chandler is relatively new to the industry, getting his start a few years ago as a writer-for-hire. After bouncing round a few universities, securing a bachelor degree, and finding his feet, he's found his new family here at Shacknews as a Guides Editor. There's nothing he loves more than crafting a guide that will help someone. If you need help with a guide, or notice something not quite right, you can Tweet him: @SamuelChandler 

From The Chatty
Hello, Meet Lola