Crucible Valor ranks and point requirements in Destiny 2

Look at the Destiny 2 Valor ranks, the points required to reach each one, and how winning streaks work.


Destiny 2 is back to being a proper grind, Guardians. Whether it’s Infamy (Gambit), Glory (Competitive), or Valor (Non-Competitive), expect to spend dozens of hours working through the ranks of each mode. It will be less if you win lots of your matches, but still a grind. What makes it worse, though, is not knowing where you fall on the ladder. Sure, you might be at Heroic with your Valor, but where does that fall on the progression tree, how far do you have to go, and how many points do you need? Below, all those questions are answered as clearly as possible.

Destiny 2 Valor ranks

Valor Ranks Destiny 2

In total there are six Valor ranks for Guardians to work through but getting there is still going to a bit of a grind. Thankfully, Valor is an account-wide progression system, so you can earn Valor for your account as you play with all three different characters. This means doing weekly bounties is likely more than enough to get you through all ranks and in a position to reset your Valor within a single season.

Title Level Valor Rank
Guardian 0 - 49 1
Brave 50 - 299 2
Heroic 300 - 699 3
Fabled 700 - 1,149 4
Mythic 1,150 - 1,799 5
Legend 1,800 - 2,000 6

Source: r/DestinyTheGame

Something to note with Valor is that you don’t lose progress with a loss. You still earn points with a loss, although it’s far less than a win, or better yet, a winning streak. Below is a look at how wins stack up to help you pass through the Valor ranks a bit quicker.

Loss Win 1 Win 2 Win 3 Win 4 Win 5+
Guardian 10 12 17 22 27 32
Brave 10 12 17 22 27 32
Heroic 10 15 20 25 30 35
Fabled 10 17 22 27 32 37
Mythic 10 20 25 30 35 40
Legend 10 22 27 32 37 42

Source: r/DestinyTheGame

Unlike Gambit’s Infamy ranking system which has sub tiers to each rank, Crucible has the six main tiers to work through only. It’s also not uncommon for Bungie to hold events that award additional XP, meaning a patient Guardian could wait until Bungie gives out double (or triple) XP, and then blast through the six Valor ranks in a single week. That’s too much Crucible in a short period of time for my liking, though.

How to reset Valor in Destiny 2

Reset Valor Destiny 2

Resetting Valor is as simple as completing the following steps outlined first by AllGamers.

  • Reach 2,000 Valor points
  • Hover your cursor over the Crucible Quickplay list
  • Choose the option to reset your Valor

Now that Guardians know what each of the Valor ranks are, how many points are required to progress, and what wins and losses count for at each level, consider hanging around. Shacknews has been working through the game for more than a year, and our complete strategy guide to Destiny 2 has valuable information for all players.

Managing Editor

Bill, who is also known as Rumpo, is a lifelong gamer and Toronto Maple Leafs fan. He is known for his guide writing and, unsettlingly enough, enjoys grinding out in-depth collectible articles. Tweet him @RumpoPlays if you have a question or comment about one of his guides.

Filed Under
From The Chatty
Hello, Meet Lola