Destiny servers down for maintenance today; will last at least six hours

Guardians will need to be patient today as Bungie has scheduled server maintenance for Destiny. The maintenance is expected to last for at least six hours.

1

Destiny’s servers will be going down for maintenance today starting at 8am PT / 11am ET.

The server maintenance is expected to last for at least six hours meaning Destiny players won’t be unable to play the game until 2pm PT / 5pm ET and beyond, depending on how well the maintenance goes.

As is the case for the majority of server maintenances, Guardians who are playing will receive an in-game message giving them notice of the upcoming downtime. While the maintenance is being carried out, some Bungie.net sign-in and Companion app services may be restricted during the six-hour maintenance block. Once maintenance has been concluded, all services and Destiny login functionality will be restored.

Destiny 2.0 is expected to launch on September 8, so we wouldn’t be surprised if today’s server maintenance had anything to do with the upcoming mandatory update. We already know Destiny 2.0 will offer a new way to level Guardians which completely throws the old Light system out. We also know Bungie will make changes to the RNG loot system.

Destiny: The Taken King will launch a week later on September 15. To learn more about The Taken King, be sure to check out our hands-on impressions and our developer preview both from E3 2015.

Senior Editor
From The Chatty