World of Warcraft Classic release date coming in August

WoW Classic will finally be available to the public late next month.

2

If you’ve been chomping at the bit for a chance to get your hands on World of Warcraft Classic, then you won’t have much longer to wait. This morning Blizzard announced that the return to the classic WoW formula will launch worldwide for users on August 27.

Those looking forward to diving into World of Warcraft Classic will be able to log in on August 13 and claim their character names. There isn’t much info on what the realm names will be just yet, but Blizzard has assured players that they’ll have plenty of time to sort out their plans before launch. Those with an active subscription will be able to create up to three characters per World of Warcraft account.

World of Warcraft Classic release date coming in August

It is important to note that a small-scale beta test will kick off on May 15. Players will also get a chance to put the servers to the test with three scheduled stress test sessions. We’ve outlined those details below:

The first test will take place Wednesday May 22 through Thursday May 23. The second stress test will kick off on Wednesday June 19 and end on Thursday June 20. Finally, the third stress test will take place between Thursday July 18 and Friday July 19. Blizzard will be choosing dedicated players who meet special criteria from the WoW Classic and standard WoW beta opt-in pools. You will need to have an active subscription or active game time on your Battle.net account to be chosen.

Here are the exact times that World of Warcraft Classic will release around the world:

Region Time Date
America 3PM PDT August 26
Europe 12AM CEST August 27
Taiwan 6AM CST August 27
Korea 7AM KST August 27
ANZ 8AM AEST August 27

You’ve only got a few more months to wait before WoW Classic arrives, so stop wasting time and get ready. We’ll continue to keep an eye on the latest news out of Blizzard, so make sure you follow Shacknews on Twitter to have all the latest from the gaming industry delivered right to your timeline.

Guides Editor

Joshua holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Creative Writing and has been exploring the world of video games for as long as he can remember. He enjoys everything from large-scale RPGs to small, bite-size indie gems and everything in between.

From The Chatty