Nintendo World Championships Are Back For 2017

Mario Kart 7 is the game, and qualifiers start on August 19 in New York City and San Francisco.


It's back! After a year off, the Nintendo World Championships are returning this year to give fans a chance to show off their prowess in Mario Kart 7. The bad news is that some of you have less than two weeks to get practicing as the first qualifiers start on August 19.

Eight U.S. cities will host qualifiers in two age brackets: 12 and under, and 13 and over. The under 12 crowd will play the DS Luigi's Mansion level, using Mario and a standard kart, with standard wheels and super glider. The 13 and over bracket will play the GBA Bowser Castle 1 level, playing Bowser. He will also use a standard kart, with standard wheels and super glider. The mode for both age groups will be Time Trial. Players will have two runs to get the best score.

Per the rules, if you are 17 or under, a parent will need to be with you before you can participate. Canadian residents can travel to the United States to participate, unless you are from Quebec, which for some reason is excluded.

Here are the qualifier dates and cities. The events will be at a select Best Buy store in that city:

  • August 19-20: New York City and San Francisco Bay Area
  • August 26-27: Chicago and Los Angeles
  • September 2-3: Minneapolis and Dallas
  • September 9-10: Seattle and Miami

You'll need to check the official site for times and addresses of the Best Buy locations. Attendees will also have the chance to demo Super Mario Odyssey and Metroid: Samus Returns. Giveaways will happen as long as supplies last.

One winner from each bracket in each city will qualify to advance to the final event. The finals will be held October 7 in New York City. Nintendo hasn't announced if Mario Kart 7 will be the game used for the finals or if it will switch to another Nintendo game as it did for the Nintendo World Championships in 2015

The format for this year's tournament is a bit different than the 2015 event, which held its finals at E3 that year. Then there were no age brackets and Nintendo brought in eight extra competitors of its choosing. No clue if that will happen again, but we'll be watching closely as more details emerge.

Contributing Editor
From The Chatty
Hello, Meet Lola