AIAS Announces 14th Annual Interactive Achievement Award Nominees

Today, the Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences announced its list of nominees for the 14th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards. The awards will be given at the D.I.C.E. Summit on Thursday, February 10 in Las Vegas. Shacknews Game of the Year Red Dead Redemption led the pack with nine nominations, but several games garnered multiple nods. Enslaved: Odyssey to the West and God of War 3 both earned six nominations, and Call of Duty: Black Ops, Heavy Rain, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, and Mass Effect 2 earned five a piece.

The Game of the Year nominees unsurprisingly include Call of Duty: Black Ops, God of War 3, Mass Effect 2, and Red Dead Redemption. But the presence of the fifth nominee, Angry Birds, speaks volumes about the direction of the industry. You can check out the full list of nominees on a PDF from the AIAS site.

Filed Under
From The Chatty
  • reply
    January 20, 2011 11:20 AM

    Red Dead Redemption deserves kudos just for attempting what is seemingly an easily exhaustive subject matter.

    Black Ops, however, is just status quo. Even Mass Effect 2 is a slightly bit more deserving.

    • reply
      January 20, 2011 12:18 PM

      I would say Mass Effect 2 is a lot more deserving. Black Ops isn't bad but I wouldn't say it is top 5 this year by a long shot.

Hello, Meet Lola