Fallout 3 DLC Due on PS3 Before 'End of September'

Having missed its initial late June estimate, developer Bethesda now expects the first batch of Fallout 3 downloadable content to hit PlayStation 3 "by the end of September."

"Keep in mind that not only do we need to test each DLC on PS3, we also need to test each DLC when used in conjunction with each of the other DLC, as well as all of them together, along with the entire original game," producer Ashley Cheng explained.

Left, Broken Steel. Right, The Pitt.

Whereas Bethesda originally planned to release the five packs roughly "4-6 weeks apart," it's now aiming to get them up "as soon as we can." Based on requests, "Broken Steel"--the only one to further the main story and raise the level cap--will be the first one released for PlayStation 3. On PC and Xbox 360, "Steel" was the third DLC release.

"Operation: Anchorage" and "The Pitt" will follow, "probably at the same time," with "Point Lookout" and "Mothership Zeta" after. Four of the five downloadable expansions have already hit PC and Xbox 360, with the last one, "Mothership Zeta," due later this month.

Pricing for the PlayStation 3 DLC has yet to be confirmed--each pack sells for $10 on PC and Xbox 360. The five packs will also be included alongside the vanilla version of the action-RPG in a Game of the Year release, due at retailers this October. The PC GoTY edition will sell at $49.99, with the Xbox 360 and PS3 iterations priced at $59.99.

Chris Faylor was previously a games journalist creating content at Shacknews.

From The Chatty
  • reply
    July 13, 2009 11:03 AM

    At least they aren't making us wait "4-6 weeks" in between releases, that would have been ridiculous considering they have all the content, what's left is to port and fix what I can only assume is a shipload of bugs. Definitely glad they listened to they community and are releasing Broken Steel first, hopefully they have some sort of pack for like $20 that has what has thus far been released on 360. I would buy that.

    Or I'm just waiting for the inevitable GOTY edition that houses all the additions.

Hello, Meet Lola