Another Star Wars: The Old Republic free weekend announced

By Jeff Mattas, May 16, 2012 1:30pm PDT

BioWare and Electronic Arts are planning yet another attempt to harness more new blood to populate Star Wars: The Old Republic. Starting this Thursday, May 17 at 12:01 AM CDT, the MMOs latest Weekend Pass Free Trial will be open to all those who haven't participated in any previous trials for the game set long, long ago in a galaxy far, far away.

"This Weekend Pass Free Trial will begin on Thursday, May 17th at 12:01AM CDT / 5:01AM GMT, and end on Monday, May 21st at 2:00AM CDT / 7:00AM GMT," notes the official announcement. Folks will be able to download the game as soon as the Weekend Pass Free Trial begins, and can register their accounts to play until "2:00AM CDT / 7:00AM GDT on Sunday, May 20th."

The same rules apply for this free weekend as those in the past. You won't need a credit card to participate, and will be able to experience up to the first fifteen levels for each character class in the game. If you decide to subscribe, the characters created during the trial will be available for you to continue playing. Participating players can also sample PvP Warzones and Flashpoints during the free weekend.

Considering the recent decline in players logging in (despite a stable subscriber base), and publisher EA's statement that the MMO isn't one of its top-five performing flagship properties, another free weekend meant to entice new players isn't entirely surprising.

Click here to comment...

advertisement

Comments

See All Comments | 1 Thread | 15 Comments