Minecraft 'hardcore' mode destroys worlds

By Steve Watts, Sep 23, 2011 8:15am PDT

If you want a greater sense of accomplishment out of your Minecraft experience, Markus "Notch" Persson knows just what to do. In a newly teased "Hardcore" mode, dying won't just eliminate you. It will blink your world from existence. Try not to think about the metaphysical implications here.

Persson showed off the option toggle in a tweet, suggesting that the mode is in testing now and will be added in a future update. If you want to feel the sheer terror of losing all of your carefully constructed operations in an instant, you'll finally have the option next week when the 1.9 update hits.

In a follow-up tweet, he teased "Ultra Hardcore Mode," which deletes a player's premium account status upon death. Persson confirmed to Shacknews that this was a joke, but mentioned that, "surprisingly many people were fine with it, though." Minecrafters are gluttons for punishment, apparently.

Click here to comment...

Comments

1 Thread | 25 Comments