News Bytes: Zombies Invade QuakeCon

Today's delicious roundup of news bytes includes Left 4 Dead at QuakeCon, an update for City of Heroes, new DLC on the Xbox Live Marketplace, games at Comic-Con, word on the Oddworld Stranger's Wrath (Xbox) soundtrack, and a status update for Factor 5's Lair (PS3). On the subject of Comic-Con, our own Chris Remo will be moderating a panel about episodic gaming with Penny Arcade, Telltale Games, and Hothead Games. Titled "Episodic Games and Comics--Made for Each Other," it begins Thursday at 11:30 AM in room 1AB and lasts for an hour. Telltale will be announcing new details on the recently announced Sam & Max Season Two (PC), so if you happen to be at the event, this might be worthy of your time.

  • Left 4 Dead At QuakeCon

    [pc] [xbox360]
    Valve and Turtle Rock Studios today announced that the survival co-op shooter Left 4 Dead (PC, X360) will be shown at next week's QuakeCon event. The game

    will be playable by attendees, and members of the design team will be on hand to answer questions. QuakeCon 2007 will be held August 2-5 at the Hilton

    Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas.

  • Playable Games At Comic-Con

    [pc] [ds] [ps3] [xbox360] [wii]

    For those of you attending the San Diego Comic-Con, several publishers have detailed the games they will have playable at the event. Publisher CDV will be showing Tarr Chronicles (PC), Sherlock Holmes: The Awakened (PC) and Attack on Pearl Harbor (PC) while Vivendi Universal Games will have a booth with TimeShift (PC, PS3, X360), F.E.A.R. Files (X360), Geometry Wars: Galaxies (NDS, WII), SWAT: Target Liberty (PSP) and Scarface (WII). Codemasters will be using the event to show Clive Barker's Jericho (PC, PS3, X360) to the public for the first time.
  • Xbox Live Delivers New In-Game Content

    New items were released on Xbox Live Marketplace today, adding premium content to several Xbox Live Arcade games and one retail title. For Load Inc.'s Mad Tracks, spending 350 Microsoft Points ($4.38) will get you the Mad Tracks Bravo expansion pack featuring seven additional races and eight new mini-games. There are also two map packs for NinjaBee's Band of Bugs, both containing five new multiplayer maps. The first pack will set you back 150 Microsoft Points ($1.87), while the second is free.

    If you're a fan of Silver Creek Entertaiment's Soltrio Solitaire, you can now get a 150 Microsoft Point ($1.87) game pack featuring 10 new games. Players of Wanako Studios' 3D Ultra Minigolf can opt to spend 400 Microsoft Points ($5) to get 18 additional holes set in a tropical paradise. The 150 Microsoft Point ($1.87) Challenge Pack for The Behemoth's Alien Hominid HD adds 100 new PDA levels to the game.

    Lastly, a free bonus level is available for Artoon's Vampire Rain, which recently arrived at retail. Known as VR Bonus Level 2, the new scenario challenges players to "see how fast you can pick up all required equipment for your mission."

  • The Scourge Project Announced

    [pc] [ps3] [x360]
    Mallorca, Spain-based Tragnarion Studios announced that it has licensed Epic's Unreal Engine 3 for The Scourge Project, their co-op action game. The company plans to release the game on PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 some time in 2008. We have screenshots and a teaser trailer.
  • City of Heroes Issue 10 Update Available

    City of Heroes players can now download the Issue 10 "Invasion" expansion, offering a storyline where heroes and villains team up to combat an alien attack in the newly redesigned Rikti Crash Site zone. As with previous Issue updates, the expansion is free to subscribers.
  • Lair Complete

    The North American version of Factor 5's dragon-flyer Lair (PS3) is complete and has gone gold, associate producer Ryan Hamlyn posted on the official PlayStation blog. Hamlyn confirms that Lair will meet the previously announced release date of August 14 in North America, noting that localization for other markets is still underway.
  • Oddworld Stranger's Wrath Soundtrack Out Soon

    Two years after the release of the game, composer Michael Bross is getting ready to release the Oddworld Stranger's Wrath soundtrack. The fifty track Volume 1 will be available July 30, with a second volume following at a later date. The remixed and remastered soundtrack will be available through several digital music stores, including iTunes, Rhapsody, eMusic and Napster.