PSN DRM change in effect now, remote deactivation detailed

Starting today, Sony's revised DRM for the PlayStation Network will go into effect. All new game purchases made on the PlayStation Store will be limited to two devices. But, how can you ensure that only the systems you have access to can use your account?

As promised, the ability to remotely deactivate your gaming devices has gone live. The process is easily completed via the web, but comes with a few caveats. For example, you'll only be able to perform the wipe once every six months.

To see how many PlayStation devices are activated on your system, you'll want to log into the Sony Entertainment Network. You'll be able to deactivate individual PSPs by connecting the system and following the instructions.

However, if you don't have access to a certain system, whether it be stolen, misplaced, or sent for repairs, you'll be able to do a remote deactivation of all your PlayStation systems. This will deactivate every system you have, and can only be done once every six months. You'll then be able to activate devices by accessing the PlayStation Store from the device, or using "Account Management" from the XMB.

(via PSN Stores)