Should players desire, the program can be fully disabled, allowing only character level listing of friends and players. Players that would like to keep using Real ID have two additional options at their disposal.
Players may opt-out of appearing of "Friends of Friends" lists, displaying their real name only to mutually accepted friends, but not that person's Real ID friends. Players may also disable the Facebook integration, which will automatically allow friends on Facebook to send you a Real ID request in-game.
Settings can be changed through the "Communication Preferences" page on Battle.net.