Rock Band DLC: More 'The Who' on Sunday, Megadeth's Complete 'Rust In Peace' Tuesday

BOOM widget 68032To commemorate The Who's upcoming Super Bowl XLIV Halftime Show performance, a specially-recorded version of the "S-mashup" the band plans to play is coming to the Rock Band series as downloadable content afterwards.

Priced at 160 Microsoft Points ($2), "The Who Super Bowl S-mashup" will be available on Xbox 360 and Wii "immediately after the game," with the PlayStation 3 release "coming soon." Traditionally, Rock Band DLC is released on Tuesdays and Thurdsays.

The "S-mashup" brings the total number of The Who songs in the franchise to 15, including "Won't Get Fooled Again" on the original Rock Band disc, "Pinball Wizard" on the Rock Band 2 disc, and the thirteen other master tracks currently available as DLC.

But that's not all, as Harmonix's "Rock Band Community Zine" revealed that next week will see the entirety of Megadeth's "Rust In Peace" album released as Rock Band DLC:

  1. "Holy Wars... The Punishment Due"
  2. "Hangar 18"
  3. "Take No Prisoners"
  4. "Five Magics"
  5. "Poison Was the Cure"
  6. "Lucretia"
  7. "Tornado of Souls"
  8. "Dawn Patrol"
  9. "Rust In Peace... Polaris"

Expect the Megadeth DLC to hit Xbox 360 and Wii on Tuesday, February 9, following by a PlayStation 3 release on Thursday, February 11. Traditionally, individual songs go for 160 Microsoft Points ($2) a pop, with bundles usually offering some slight savings.

Update: Harmonix has chimed in with pricing details, confirming the nine-track "Rust In Peace" bundle will go for 1200 MS Points ($15) with individual songs at $2 a piece.