Battlefield: Bad Company 2 PC DRM Detailed

The SecuROM DRM solution used in DICE's shooter Battlefield: Bad Company 2 has been explained by lead programmer Mikael Kalms over on the Battlefield Blog.

"The version which we use is a wrapper around the main game executable," says Kalms, "ONLY running when the game is running" and uninstalled when the game is.

nope

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 will feature two authentication options--one online and one offline. Players can avoid online activation altogether with the disc check method, which requires the DVD be in their drive when they play but can be done entirely offline.

As disc checks are a nuisance, players can alternatively opt to let SecuROM go online. After authenticating once, the installation will be authenticated and can run offline for a grand next ten thousand days before needing to activate again--over twenty-seven years.

The online method has a ten-installation limit. Copies will automatically de-authenticate upon uninstalling or players can de-authorise PCs manually, though the process requires the PC in question be online. Should players exhaust their ten installations, Kelms says to "contact EA's technical support to get an extra authentication added to your 'pool.'

A SecuROM wrapper will also be used in the upcoming semi-public PC beta "to make it difficult to hack the Closed Beta client to run the final game," Kalms says.

Another BF blog post reveals that DICE has pinned the starting time for the PC beta--kicking off on January 28--down to "approximately 6pm CET, 12pm EST, and 9am PST."

The full version of Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is slated for a PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 release on March 2.

Developer and publisher Ubisoft yesterday unveiled its slightly more intrusive new PC DRM solution, which will require players be online constantly to play but offers online saved game storage and no installation limits in return.