Guitar Hero 3 Gains Aerosmith, Bloc Party, Sonic Youth, The Killers, White Zombie, Many More

Sixteen more Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock of the tracks were revealed by publisher Activision today, adding songs from bands such as Aerosmith, Bloc Party, Disturbed, Sonic Youth, The Killers, Dead Kennedys, and White Zombie.

Today's announcement brings the total number of known tracks to nearly 60. Other standout songs in the game include Metallica's "One", Guns N' Roses' "Welcome to the Jungle", Smashing Pumpkins' "Cherub Rock", and exclusive re-recordings of Sex Pistols' "Anarchy in the U.K." and Living Colour's "Cult of Personality" performed by the original bands.

New Master Tracks:
- Same Old Song and Dance (by Aerosmith)
- Helicopter (by Bloc Party)
- Stricken (by Disturbed)
- Monsters (by Matchbook Romance)
- Before I Forget (by Slipknot)
- Kool Thing (by Sonic Youth)
- When You Were Young (by The Killers)

New Covers:
- Devil Went Down to Georgia (as made famous by Charlie Daniels Band)
- Sunshine of Your Love (as made famous by Cream)
- Holiday in Cambodia (as made famous by Dead Kennedys)
- Cliffs of Dover (as made famous by Eric Johnson)
- Black Magic Woman (as made famous by Santana)
- Story of My Life (as made famous by Social Distortion)
- Pride and Joy (as made famous by Stevie Ray Vaughn)
- The Seeker (as made famous by The Who)
- Black Sunshine (as made famous by White Zombie)

The inclusion of Sonic Youth's "Kool Thing" matches up with earlier reports, which claimed that Interscope would be releasing a Guitar Hero III soundtrack in late October. The CD is also said to contain a voucher that allows Xbox 360 owners to obtain exclusive tracks from AFI, Flyleaf, and Marilyn Manson.

Guitar Hero III arrives on PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and Wii on October 28. Neversoft is handling the PS3 and X360 versions, with Budcat on the PS2 build and Vicarious Visions on the Wii iteration.

PC and Mac editions of the game, ported by Aspyr Media and based on the Xbox 360 version, are also in development and will hit this year, though an exact release date has yet to be pinned down.