ELEAGUE to distribute live tournaments and on-demand content on Twitch

The two parties reached a multi-year agreement to air content beginning next Tuesday, May 24.

1

Twitch is the live-streaming platform of choice for gamers all around the world. Shaq knows it, and ELEAGUE knows it, which is why it signed a multi-year agreement to broadcast live events and on-demand content beginning next Tuesday, May 24.

ELEAGUE will air live content on a regular schedule. Twitch users can watch six tournaments every Tuesday and Wednesday beginning at 12p Eastern / 9a Pacific. During regular six-week seasons, coverage begins at 2p Eastern / 11a Pacific on Thursdays with two best-of-three matchups.

Twitch and ELEAGUE also worked out a multi-viewing experience: when the Friday night showcase airs on TBS, Twitch viewers will be able to catch exclusive content beginning at 10p Eastern / 7p Pacific.

Anyone who misses live action can turn to the ELEAGUE Channel for an expansive video-on-demand archive featuring replays of recent tournaments.

"We’re incredibly excited for the launch of ELEAGUE and Twitch provides us with a premier destination for fans to congregate and engage with our live event coverage," said ELEAGUE general manager Christina Alejandre.

ELEAGUE chose the perfect time to partner up: next week, it kicks off a 10-week Counter-Strike: Global Offensive tourney between 24 teams.

Long Reads Editor

David L. Craddock writes fiction, nonfiction, and grocery lists. He is the author of the Stay Awhile and Listen series, and the Gairden Chronicles series of fantasy novels for young adults. Outside of writing, he enjoys playing Mario, Zelda, and Dark Souls games, and will be happy to discuss at length the myriad reasons why Dark Souls 2 is the best in the series. Follow him online at davidlcraddock.com and @davidlcraddock.

From The Chatty