New Black Desert Online second closed beta details emerge; name reservations available today

Black Desert Online has made some nice improvements since its first closed beta test based on player feedback. Best of all, you can now reserve your name in the game today.

9

Daum Games has announced name reservations will commence today while also revealing new details surrounding the second beta test for Black Desert Online.

Players who have pre-ordered Black Desert Online will be able to reserve their names starting at 6pm UTC (1pm ET / 10am PT) by visiting the following dedicated page.

Those interested in pre-ordering one of three available packages will be able to do so until February 26. Those who ordered either the Explorer’s or Conqueror’s package will automatically be entered in the second Closed Beta Test, which will run from February 18 at 8am UTC (3am ET / 12am PT) to February 22. While those who pre-order these two packages will gain access to next week’s Closed Beta Test, others can still register on the sign-up page for a chance to participate.

Daum Games has made a number of improvements to Black Desert Online based on player feedback from the first Close Beta Test. The following changes and features can be expected to be available during next week’s beta:

  • All-new Karma system, which balances player kills and death penalties
  • Addition of voiceovers
  • French and German localization
  • Addition of tutorial videos
  • Adjustments to experience gain
  • Maximum player level of 55
  • Improved user interface

The second Closed Beta Test will also host a number of scheduled in-game events, which will happen throughout the beta. More details surrounding these events will be revealed in Black Desert Online's official forums.

Senior Editor
From The Chatty
    • reply
      February 9, 2016 9:24 AM

      Do NOT spend money on this, you will regret it.

      • reply
        February 9, 2016 9:35 AM

        Why do you say that?

      • reply
        February 9, 2016 9:56 AM

        Was it you that made a few posts about this awhile back playing on Korean servers?

        It looked super interesting at the time, a shame if it doesn't follow through.

        • reply
          February 9, 2016 3:53 PM

          Yes. It's beautiful. And it totally sucks. Don't bother.

          • reply
            February 9, 2016 9:15 PM

            What was so bad about it? I'm genuinely curious

            • reply
              February 9, 2016 9:30 PM

              Looks great, combat is very visceral. Mobs are dead stupid, usually just standing around in groups waiting for you to wander over and kill them, which is extremely easy to do. Quests are fedex with no depth. It's just so very, very boring after the 2 first hours.

              • reply
                February 9, 2016 9:41 PM

                Ah, that's a shame to hear. I'll still give it a shot because I'm a sucker for beautiful graphics

    • reply
      February 9, 2016 1:45 PM

      SO glad i saw this, I didn't know name reservations were even a thing for BDO. I was able to nab the name I wanted too. So +1 to you for this!