Play for Japan charity album details revealed

The Play for Japan charity unveiled details of its PFJ Album today, featuring original songs from the composers of games like Metroid, Dead Space, Super Mario Bros, Final Fantasy, Prince of Persia, Chrono Trigger, and more.


The Play for Japan charity, founded to benefit those impacted by the Japanese earthquake and subsequent tsunami, has announced the details of its benefit album. The album is set for early June on iTunes, though no price was given. It features original songs by various well-known video game composers and album art by Yoshitaka Amano. Best of all, every red cent of the proceeds goes to the Japanese Red Cross.

The charity recently reached a milestone of $120,000 raised through various auctioned items. Check out the full track list below, along with a video introduction from the coordinator Akira Yamaoka.

  • Akira Yamaoka (Shadows of the Damned) | "Ex Animo"

  • Arthur Inasi (Harmonix) | "We Are One"

  • Bear McCreary (SOCOM 4) | "Maverick Regeneration"

  • Chance Thomas (Lord of the Rings Online) | "Rise Up"

  • Hip Tanaka.β (Metroid) | "HVC-1384″

  • Inon Zur feat. The Lyris Quartet (Dragon Age) | "Remember"

  • Jason Graves (Dead Space) | "Necromancer"

  • Koji Kondo (Super Mario Bros.) | "Super Mario Medley On Two Pianos"

  • Laura Karpman (Everquest II) w/Lisbeth Scott | "Pine Wind Sound"

  • Laura Shigihara (Plants vs. Zombies) | "Jump"

  • Mitsuto Suzuki (The 3rd Birthday) | "Play for You"

  • Nobuko Toda (Metal Gear Solid 4) | "Reminiscence"

  • Nobuo Uematsu (Final Fantasy) | "Every New Morning"

  • Penka Kouneva (Prince of Persia) | "White Cloud"

  • Sean Murray (Call of Duty) | "The Temple Stone"

  • Tommy Tallarico (Advent Rising) | "Greater Lights"

  • Woody Jackson (Red Dead Redemption) | "Moshi Moshi"

  • Yasunori Mitsuda (Chrono Trigger) | "Dimension Break"

Filed Under
From The Chatty
Hello, Meet Lola