BAFTA Video Games Awards Nominees Announced

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) unveiled the nominees for Video Games Awards today on their official site. Vying for honors as Best Game will be:
  • Assassin's Creed 2
  • Batman: Arkham Asylum
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
  • FIFA 10
  • Left 4 Dead 2
  • Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.
The awards also recognize games in the categories of Action, Artistic Achievement, Family and Social, Gameplay, Handheld, Multiplayer, Original Score, Sports, Story, Strategy, Use of Audio, and Use of Online. The GAME award voted on by the British public rounds out the awards.

Any game released in the UK during 2009 was eligible for the awards. A jury made up of between seven and nine members of the video game industry drawn from developers and publishers and chaired by a member of the BAFTA video games committee selects the final award nominees and winning entry. This year's winners will be announced at the GAME British Academy Video Game Awards on Friday, March, 19.

From The Chatty
  • reply
    February 16, 2010 8:01 PM

    Oh you know the British: they always feel like they have to go against the norm and be on a "higher" plane of intellect. Most likely they'll want nothing more than to NOT pick Modern Warfare 2 as their winner of the vga. But with MW2 being such the badass game it is, can they resist its power? If not, then we all kno what happens. But it they DO manage to resist, we all know it will be Uncharted. That game is just epic.

    • reply
      February 16, 2010 8:40 PM


    • reply
      February 16, 2010 8:57 PM

      Modern Warfare 2 didn't win at the Spike VGAs of all places. If it doesn't win there then I doubt it'll win a BAFTA. I'd bet on Uncharted 2.

Hello, Meet Lola