Rock Band Expansion Coming To PS2, Wii

Developer Harmonix has announced an expansion pack for the PlayStation 2 and Wii editions of its multi-instrument music title Rock Band.

Due out on July 15 and priced at $29.99, Rock Band Track Pack Volume 1 contains 20 new tracks, all of which have been released as downloadable content for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 versions.

The expansion disc solves the issue of lacking storage capacity on the PlayStation 2 and Wii, which prevented the release of additional songs as downloadable content. It should be noted that the disc only contains a small portion of the numerous downloadable tracks that have been made available for the other editions.

To break it down, PS2 and Wii owners will be paying roughly $1.50 for each song, which is comparable to the average cost of $2.00 for an individual song download on X360 or PS3. However, some downloadable songs are bundled together or priced separately at a slightly lower cost.

The track list is as follows:

  • 30 Seconds to Mars - "The Kill"
  • All American Rejects - "Move Along"
  • Blink 182 - "All the Small Things"
  • Boston - "More Than a Feeling"
  • David Bowie - "Moonage Daydream"
  • Faith No More - "We Care A Lot"
  • Grateful Dead - "Truckin'"
  • The Hives - "Die, All Right!"
  • KISS - "Calling Dr. Love"
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd - "Gimme' Three Steps"
  • Nine Inch Nails - "March of the Pigs"
  • Oasis - "Live Forever"
  • Paramore - "Crushcrushcrush"
  • The Police - "Synchronicity II"
  • Queens of the Stone Age - "Little Sister"
  • Ramones - "Teenage Lobotomy"
  • Smashing Pumpkins - "Siva"
  • Stone Temple Pilots - "Interstate Love Song"
  • Weezer - "Buddy Holly"
  • Wolfmother - "Joker & the Thief"

    **All 20 tracks utilize original master recordings**

Co-developed by Pi Studios and creator Harmonix, the PlayStation 2 edition of Rock Band arrived last December containing the same 58 songs as the X360 and PS3 releases. The Wii version is slated to hit on June 22 with five extra bonus tracks.

Chris Faylor was previously a games journalist creating content at Shacknews.

From The Chatty
  • reply
    May 5, 2008 9:15 AM

    So basically, 360/PS3 DLC in a neat little package?

Hello, Meet Lola