PUBG's Codename: Savage Map Renamed, Heading To Experimental Server

Experience hectic battle royale on the Southeast Asian island on new experimental servers this week.

1

The PUBG train keeps on rolling, today bringing news on the Southeast Asian island map known as Codename: Savage. The compact map was first teased back at GDC by creative director Brendan Greene (aka PlayerUnknown) and promised faster, more hectic action than the other large maps available in PUBG. Early access to the new map was limited to the PUBG: Closed Experimental Server, a special Steam entry that required a special product key to unlock. This morning, developer Bluehole announced that the map be will be renamed Sanhok (pronounced “sah-nok”) and will be open to all for testing on the new PUBG: Experimental Server.

As the island of Sanhok was inspired by real life islands found in Thailand and the Philippines, Bluehole decided that the name should come from a combination of words from each of those country’s respective languages:

First, the Thai word for “fun:” (word cannot be written here thanks to the website CMS) pronouced "sah-nook"
Second, the Filipino (Tagalog) word for “chicken:” manok (pronounced like “mah-nok”)

Testing for Sanhok will be open to all PUBG owners, so a new download from Steam, called PUBG: Experimental Server, will be available soon and required to access the test session. The schedule for testing is as follows:

TESTING BEGINS:
Thursday May 10, 7pm PDT / FRI May 11, 4am CEST / May 11, 11am KST

TESTING ENDS:
Monday May 14, 4am PDT / May 14, 1pm CEST / May 14, 8pm KST

To make sure you are ready for fun chicken, check in with your Steam library periodically, as the Experimental Server download should appear in the library of every PUBG owner on Steam. If the name Sanhok doesn’t do it for you, you still have a chance to help name the Abandoned Resort section of the map.

Contributing Tech Editor

Chris Jarrard likes playing games, crankin' tunes, and looking for fights on obscure online message boards. He understands that breakfast food is the only true food. Don't @ him.

From The Chatty