X
X

Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild may release alongside Switch, but in Japan and North America

A new report by Eurogamer and various other insiders suggests that The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild may release in March alongside Nintendo Switch.

According to Eurogamer, sources close to Nintendo told the publication that Zelda will release in March, as Nintendo wants to give the Switch as strong a launch lineup as possible.

According to the report, only the Japan and North America regions will get Zelda in March. Nintendo of Europe seems to be the one pushing for a delay, since the game's localization isn't finished for that territory.

Nintendo hasn't given an official release date for Zelda yet, nor even a release window. Back in November, Target posted an online listing for the game with a June release date.

Eurogamer added fuel to the delay fire when it posted a story stating that sources close to the press outlet—which has a penchant for breaking accurate stories about Switch—told editors that Breath of the Wild was still "four to six months" away from being released due to the game's massive scope requiring extensive QA testing and localization.

Nintendo will likely put rumors to rest next week late on the evening of January 12 (11:00 PM ET / 8:00 PM PT), when it broadcasts a Switch-themed stream that will go into details on the console's exact release date, price, and launch lineup.

The following morning, Nintendo Treehouse employees will broadcast a stream to provide "an in-depth look at upcoming games" for the Switch. That broadcast is scheduled for 9:30 AM ET / 6:30 AM PT on Friday, January 13.

Visit Chatty to Join The Conversation