Rockstar execs to join AIAS Hall of Fame

Rockstar founders Dan and Sam Houser and Rockstar North president Leslie Benzies will be inducted into the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) Hall of Fame, the AIAS announced today. The award will be given at this year's DICE Awards, this Thursday in Las Vegas. The honorees will be presented by Phil Harrison, corporate VP of Microsoft and former Sony exec.

The award is being given for Rockstar's history innovating in the open-world genre, particularly in its Grand Theft Auto series. The announcement cites a "commitment to innovation, detail, and a deep love of popular culture" behind Rockstar's games, ranging from GTA to Bully to Red Dead Redemption. The new inductees will join luminaries such as Gabe Newell (2013), Tim Sweeney (2012), the BioWare doctors (2011), Mark Cerny (2010), and Bruce Shelley (2009).

The awards will take place February 6 at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas. They will be hosted by Felicia Day and Freddie Wong, and streamed on Twitch.