Rock Band 2's RB1 Song Import Costs $5, Excluded Songs Revealed

Rock Band developer has Harmonix has followed up on its previous announcement regarding the ability to import songs from the first Rock Band disc and play them in the sequel, due September 14 on Xbox 360 and later this season for PlayStation 3.

nope Only three of the tracks from the first Rock Band will not be playable in the sequel, the studio revealed on its official forum. As was previously estimated, the ability to export songs from the RB1 disc onto the hard drive and play them in RB2 will cost 400 Microsoft Points ($5) due to licensing fees.

That fee only applies to songs from the original Rock Band, with all previously released Rock Band downloadable content already compatible at no extra charge.

The ability to purchase the license and export songs from Rock Band is now available within the Xbox 360 version of the original, following an automatic that was released today. The following Rock Band disc tracks are not available for export:

  • "Paranoid" as made famous by Black Sabbath (Cover)
  • "Run to the Hills" as made famous by Iron Maiden (Cover)
  • "Enter Sandman" by Metallica
As a result, the following 55 are all exportable under that $5 transaction:

Main Set List (covers denoted by asterisk)

  • Rolling Stones, "Gimme Shelter"
  • Mountain, "Mississippi Queen" *
  • Deep Purple, "Highway Star"
  • The Who, "Won't Get Fooled Again"
  • David Bowie, "Suffragette City"
  • Sweet, "Ballroom Blitz" *
  • Aerosmith, "Train Kept A-Rollin'" *
  • The Outlaws, "Green Grass and High Tides" *
  • The Ramones, "Blitzkrieg Bop"
  • Boston, "Foreplay/Long Time"
  • Blue Oyster Cult, "Don't Fear the Reaper"
  • Kiss, "Detroit Rock City"
  • The Police, "Next To You"
  • Molly Hatchet, "Flirtin' With Disaster"
  • Rush, "Tom Sawyer" *
  • The Clash, "Should I Stay or Should I Go"
  • Bon Jovi, "Wanted Dead or Alive"
  • Faith No More, "Epic"
  • R. E. M., "Orange Crush"
  • Pixies, "Wave of Mutilation"
  • Nirvana, "In Bloom"
  • Radiohead, "Creep"
  • The Smashing Pumpkins, "Cherub Rock"
  • Weezer, "Say It Ain't So"
  • Beastie Boys, "Sabotage"
  • Soundgarden, "Black Hole Sun"
  • Stone Temple Pilots, "Vasoline"
  • Hole, "Celebrity Skin"
  • Garbage, "I Think I'm Paranoid"
  • Foo Fighters, "Learn to Fly"
  • The Hives, "Main Offender"
  • Queens of the Stone Age, "Go with the Flow"
  • Fall Out Boy, "Dead on Arrival"
  • Jet, "Are You Gonna Be My Girl"
  • The New Pornographers, "Electric Version"
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs, "Maps"
  • The Strokes, "Reptilia"
  • Coheed and Cambria, "Welcome Home"
  • Nine Inch Nails, "The Hand That Feeds"
  • Ok Go, "Here It Goes Again"
  • The Killers, "When You Were Young"
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers, "Dani California"
  • Timmy and the Lords of the Underworld, "Timmy and the Lords of the Underworld"
  • The Konks, "29 Fingers"
  • Flyleaf, "I'm So Sick"
  • The Acrobats, "Day Late, Dollar Short"
  • Anarchy Club, "Blood Doll"
  • Bang Camaro, "Pleasure (Pleasure)"
  • Crooked X, "Nightmare"
  • Death of the Cool, "Can't Let Go"
  • Freezepop, "Brainpower"
  • The Mother Hips, "Time We Had"
  • Vagiant, "Seven"
  • Honest Bob and the Factory-to-Dealer Incentives, "I Get By"
  • Tribe, "Outside"
The full on-disc playlist for Rock Band 2 can be found here.